#### **ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL**

COUNCIL

## **CUSTOMER SERVICES**

26th NOVEMBER 2015

#### POLITICAL MANAGEMENT ARRANGEMENTS

#### 1. EXECUTIVE SUMMARY

- **1.1** The purpose of this report is to update the Council on the Political Management Arrangements following the formation of a new political group with effect from 24<sup>th</sup> September 2015; the Reform Group comprising Councillors Breslin, Dance and Marshall.
- **1.2** It also provides an update on the composition of the Administration.
- **1.3** It is recommended that the Council note the terms of the report.

## **ARGYLL AND BUTE COUNCIL**

COUNCIL

## **CUSTOMER SERVICES**

26th NOVEMBER 2015

## POLITICAL MANAGEMENT ARRANGEMENTS

#### 2. INTRODUCTION

- 2.1 The purpose of this report is to update the Council on the Political Management Arrangements following the formation of a new political group with effect from 24<sup>th</sup> September 2015; the Reform Group comprising Councillors Breslin, Dance and Marshall.
- **2.2** It also provides an update on the composition of the Administration.

#### 3. RECOMMENDATIONS

**3.1** The Council is invited to note the terms of the report.

#### 4. DETAIL

- 4.1 The Council is invited to note the formation of a new political group with effect from 24th September 2015; the Reform Group comprising Councillors Breslin, Dance and Marshall.
- 4.2 At the date of this report the updated composition of the Administration, and the political management groups within the Council, is as follows:

# Argyll and Bute Council Administration Composition

Rory Colville Maurice Corry Robin Currie Mary Jean Devon George Freeman David Kinniburgh
Alastair MacDougall
Duncan MacIntyre
Robert E MacIntyre
Robert G MacIntyre
John McAlpine
Roddy McCuish
Donnie MacMillan
Alex McNaughton
Jimmy McQueen
Aileen Morton
Ellen Morton (Depute Leader)
Gary Mulvaney
Elaine Robertson
Len Scoullar (Provost)

# Argyll and Bute Council Political Composition

Dick Walsh (Leader)

## **ALLIANCE OF INDEPENDENT COUNCILLORS (7)**

Alastair MacDougall Robert G MacIntyre Donnie MacMillan Alex McNaughton Jimmy McQueen Len Scoullar (Provost)

Dick Walsh (AIC Group Leader, Leader of the Council)

## ARGYLL FIRST (5)

#### **Donald Kelly (Con) (Argyll First Group Leader)**

Duncan MacIntyre (Ind)
John McAlpine (Ind)
Douglas Philand (Ind) (Depute Provost)
Robert E Macintyre (Ind)

#### THE ARGYLL, LOMOND AND THE ISLANDS GROUP (11)

Rory Colville (LD) Robin Currie (LD) Aileen Morton (LD)

## Ellen Morton (TALIG Group Leader, Depute Leader of the Council)

Maurice Corry (Con)
David Kinniburgh (Con)
Gary Mulvaney (Con)
Elaine Robertson (Ind)

George Freeman (Ind) Roddy McCuish Mary Jean Devon

#### **REFORM GROUP (3)**

## Michael Breslin (Reform Group Leader)

Vivien Dance (Depute Group Leader)
Bruce Marshall (Group Secretary)

#### **SCOTTISH NATIONAL PARTY GROUP (9)**

# Sandy Taylor (SNP Group Leader)

Anne Horn
James Robb
Isobel Strong
Richard Trail (Depute Group Leader)
William Gordon Blair (Group Secretary)
Iain Angus MacDonald
Iain Stewart MacLean
John Armour

Neil Macintyre (Lab)

Note:

Ind = Independent

SNP = Scottish National Party

NPA = Not Politically Aligned

LD = Liberal Democrat

Con = Conservative

Lab = Labour

#### 5.0 CONCLUSION

**5.1** Following the formation of the new political group, the Council is invited to note the terms of the report and the update with regards to the

composition of the Administration, and the political management groups within the Council.

# 6.0 IMPLICATIONS

- 6.1 Policy None
- 6.2 Financial None
- 6.3 Legal None
- 6.4 HR None
- 6.5 Equalities None
- 6.6 Risk None
- 6.7 Customer Service None

Douglas Hendry Executive Director of Customer Services 16<sup>th</sup> November 2015

For further information please contact Charles Reppke, Head of Governance and Law, telephone 01546 604192 or email <a href="mailto:charles.reppke@argyll-bute.gov.uk">charles.reppke@argyll-bute.gov.uk</a>